Sphingidae Taxonomic Inventory

Creating a taxonomic e-science

Neue Erkenntnisse zu den primären Futterpflanzen der Raupen von Attacus crameri C. Felder in von Frauenfeld, 1861 von Ambon und Seram, Molukken, Indonesien (Lepidoptera: Saturniidae)

Publication Type:Journal Article
Year of Publication:2017
Authors:Paukstadt, U, Paukstadt, LH
Journal:Beiträge zur Kenntnis der wilden Seidenspinner
Start Page:209
Date Published:11/2017

"During a fifth entomological expedition to the island of Ambon, Moluccas and a first entomological expedition to the island of Seram, Moluccas, Indonesia, which were carried out by the author in October 2017 (1st expedition in July-August 1997, 2nd in March 2015, 3rd in July 2017, and 4th in September 2017) new observations on the primary food plants of the larvae of Attacus crameri C. FELDER in von Frauenfeld, 1861 (Attacus) (Lepidoptera: Saturniidae) were made in the wild. Thus far three primary food plants were recorded for A. crameri from Ambon. Those are Duabanga moluccana BLUME (Lythraceae), cf. U. & L. H. Paukstadt (2015), Polyscias nodosa (BLUME) SEEM. (Araliaceae) and Carallia brachiata (LOUR.) MERR. (Rhizophoraceae), cf. U. & L. H. Paukstadt (2017). So far Rhizophoraceae is not finally confirmed by the authors because no early stages were found personally. During our fourth entomological expedition to Ambon a further primary food plant for larvae of A. crameri was finally identified. This has been Callicarpa pentandra ROXB. a species of the beautyberry tree, Callicarpa L. of the family Lamiaceae MARTINOV. During a first entomological expedition to the island of Seram, Moluccas Polyscias nodosa (BLUME) SEEM. (Araliaceae) was confirmed as one of the primary food plants for larvae of A. crameri from the island of Seram. An empty cocoon of A. crameri was found near Piru, West Seram, which is now preserved in the Research Collection of Ulrich and Laela H. Paukstadt (Wilhelmshaven, Germany)."

Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith