Sphingidae Taxonomic Inventory

Creating a taxonomic e-science

Syntherata degroofi sp. nov., ein neuer wilder Seidenspinner von Misool, Indonesien (Lepidoptera: Saturniidae)

Publication Type:Journal Article
Year of Publication:2017
Authors:Paukstadt, U, Paukstadt, LH, Večerik, Z
Journal:Beiträge zur Kenntnis der wilden Seidenspinner
Start Page:281
Date Published:11/2017

"A new species of the Papuan-Australian genus Syntherata MAASSEN, 1873 (Lepidoptera: Saturniidae) is herewith described: Syntherata degroofi sp. nov. Thus far the new species is only known from the islands of Misool. Misool, formerly spelled Mysol (Dutch: Misoöl), is one of the four major islands in the Regency Raja Ampat in the West Papua Province (formerly Irian Jaya) of Indonesia. Its area is 2,034 km², the highest point is 561 m, cf. UN System-Wide Earthwatch Web. During the ice age Misool has been connected with New Guinea, Australia and the Aru-Archipelago. The island became isolated most probably about 8,000 – 12,000 years ago when the sea water level commenced rising during the post ice age. The long isolation of the islands in the Indonesian Archipelago, of course, led to the origin of some distinct endemic taxa. Those are the herewith described S. degroofi sp. nov. from Misool, S. doboensis PAUKSTADT & PAUKSTADT 2004 and S. malukuensis PAUKSTADT & PAUKSTADT, 2005 from the Aru Islands. The morphology of S. degroofi sp. nov. is distinct from related taxa from other islands in the Moluccas and the island of New Guinea. S. degroofi sp. nov. is related to S. innescens NAUMANN & BRECHLIN, 2001 from the Central Moluccas and to S. sinjaevi NAUMANN & BRECHLIN, 2001 from the northern Moluccas. A more close relationship might be present to one of the populations which occupy Cendrawasih in the West Papua Province. The new taxon is described in species rank due to the present geographic isolation of the Island of Misool from New Guinea, Australia, and the remaining islands in the Moluccas."

Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith